A long time ago (or so it feels) I used to smoke. I started smoking as a result of peer pressure, some people I wanted to be friends with smoked so I started as well. It was the dumbest thing I ever did, period.

When I tell people I used to smoke but I quit, they tell me 'good for you' or 'that must have been so hard, I'm so proud of you'. This irritates the be-jesus out of me…

See, otter had two parents who smoked yet she never ever lit up even a single cigarette, not one, ever. Nobody says to her 'I am so proud of you because you never started smoking'.

We have created a society where it's considered better to do something stupid and then 'fix' it instead of just doing the right thing all along. You can smoke, drink, use drugs, waste 20 years of your life away as a total zombie and then become the worst president the country has ever seen simply by saying you don't do that stuff anymore (and find Jesus apparently). It's insulting to the truly good and smart people.